Can I use my valid foreign driver's license to drive in Hawaii?
Yes. Your valid driver's license is good for one year from the entry date on your passport.
Can I use my cell phone while driving in Hawaii?
No. You may not use any electronic handheld device while driving. This includes phones, cameras and mp3 players. Holding a phone at a stoplight or while paused with the engine running is considered a violation and you will receive a ticket. Fines vary according to island and can be as high as $150.
You may use a Bluetooth headset or hands-free device with your cellphone.
What's the speed limit in Hawaii?
The speed limit varies from 10 miles per hour (mph) in tiny lanes and 25 in most residential neighborhoods to 60 mph on some freeways.
What should I do if I am in an auto accident?
If you are in a collision, the first step is to call the police at 911 to file a report or to contact emergency fire or ambulance services. Do not leave the scene until after the police are finished. You may need to contact your rental car company.
What are the helmet laws?
• All riders 17 years old and younger must wear a helmet.
• Bicycles– All riders 15 years old and younger must don a helmet.
• Motor Scooters & Motorcycles– Helmets are required for all riders 17 years old or younger.
Does my child need a child safety seat?
Most rental car providers have child safety seats available for rent.
• All children under the age of four must be secured in a Federally-approved child safety seat.
• All children between the ages of four and seven must ride in either a booster seat or a car seat. Children 4'9'' or taller or those riding in vehicles with lap-only seat belts in rear seats are exempt.